

Minutes of the 2016 Annual General Meeting of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Section of the Royal Microscopical Society which was held on Friday 30 September 2016 at The Geological Society, Burlington House, Piccadilly, London W1J 0BG

Present: Professor Beverley Inkson (Chair), Dr Roland Kröger (Secretary), Professor Michelle Peckham (President), Professor Pete Nellist (Vice-President), Dr Debbie Stokes (International Secretary), Dr Lynne Joyce (Honorary Treasurer), Dr Peter O'Toole (Honorary Secretary Science – Life), Professor Rik Brydson (Honorary Secretary Science – Physical), Dr Susan Anderson (Honorary Secretary Education), Dr Helena Aegerter, Dr Simon Ameer-Beg, Mr Paul Balas, Mr Eric Bennett, Mr Steve Cham, Ms Hong Chang, Mr Savvas Christofi, Dr Lucy Collinson, Mr Leslie Franchi, Dr Robert Francis, Dr Richard Grenfell, Dr Pippa Hawes, Mr Chris Kennedy, Mr David McCarthy, Ms Denise McLean, Mr Stephen Metcalfe, Mr Jean-Yves Mugnier, Mrs Niga Nawroly, Dr Chris Parmenter, Professor Maddy Parsons, Mr Alan Poole, Professor Klaus Qvortrup, Dr Natalie Reznikov, Mr Peter Sainsbury, Mr Ralf Schniersmeier, Mr Leslie Stump, Dr Nadezda Tarakina, Professor Paul Verkade, Dr Claire Wells, Ms Allison Winton (RMS staff) and Dr Zdravka Dragnevska FRMS (RMS staff).

1. Apologies for Absence

Apologies had been received from Dr Mike Dixon, Dr Owen Green and Mr Paul Gunning.

2. Minutes of the 2015 Annual General Meeting

The Minutes were signed and approved as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. Report from Section Chair

"This year we celebrate the first anniversary of the new Engineering and Physical Sciences (EPS) Section. The EPS section represents the diverse and interdisciplinary engineering and physical science community, who use cross-cutting microscopy based methods to solve engineering and physical science problems.

Our Committee is a mix of young and young-at-heart members coming from a range of scientific disciplines, career levels, academia and industry. Over the year extensive effort by the EPS committee, the RMS and EPS-associated Organisers has gone into organising a number of 2016 and future 2017 events.

Successful 2016 events have included a redesigned Quantitative Analysis of Grain Size course organised by Steve Metcalfe in collaboration with Struers Sheffield, which was expanded to two events to meet demand; EBSD 2016, organised by the RMS in Manchester with 83 registrants and 10 exhibitors; and FIB & EM Preparation Workshop, organised in Manchester, by Dr Xiangli Zhong with 40 participants.

Our focus for upcoming meetings are the cross-cutting EPS themes of Energy, Environmental Materials, Tribology & Coatings and Bioengineering. The first three themes will be addressed by dedicated EPS symposia at mmc2017 next July. Key challenges of bioengineering will be addressed during the upcoming Cryogenic preparation and imaging strategies for soft matter in materials science meeting to be held on 24 February 2017 at Queen Mary University, London.

We would like to engage as many early-career researchers in these exciting symposia as possible, all of which address topics highlighted by the Research Councils and relevant for the RCUK Centres for Doctoral Training (CDT). The mmc2017 symposia will give younger researchers opportunities to present work in a supportive environment, network with international and established birthday-challenged researchers in academia and industry, and browse the newest technologies in the outstanding Trade exhibition.

As we think about the development of the next generation of researchers, and the evolution of engineering disciplines, it is clear that there is great strength in diversity. Over the last 10 years Engineering and Physical Science disciplines in the UK have benefitted greatly from the influx of talented overseas students and staff, and substantial improvements in gender equality have resulted from engagement with the Equality Challenge Unit's Athena SWAN Gender equality charter.

As the challenges of Brexit approach, the EPS committee aims to ensure that all activities are accessible and inclusive across the whole Microscopy Community. Scientists and engineers with an enthusiastic interest in microscopy for physical sciences or engineering are encouraged to contact the Committee and assist in our activities."

5. Election of Officers

There being no other nominations, the following officers were duly elected:

Chair: Professor Beverley Inkson, University of Sheffield Honorary Secretary: Dr Roland Kröger, University of York

6. Election of Ordinary Members (7)

There being no other nominations, the following committee members were duly elected:

Dr Anna Baldycheva, Exeter
Mr Owen Green, University of Oxford
Mr Paul Gunning, Smith and Nephew
Dr Rebecca Higginson, University of Loughborough
Mr Jean-Yves Mugnier, RSSL, Reading
Dr Dogan Ozkaya, Johnson Matthey
Dr Natalie Reznikov, Imperial College

In addition to the nominated Committee Members, Dr Mike Dixon, Dr Steve McVitie, Mr Steve Metcalfe and Dr Alan Poole have been co-opted onto the Committee.

7. Any Other Business – there was none.