

Minutes of the 2023 AGM of the AFM & other Scanning Probe Microscopies Section of the Royal Microscopical Society which was held on Wednesday 5 July 2023 during mmc2023 held at Manchester Central, Windmill St, Manchester, M2 3GX

Members present: Oleg Kolosov FRMS (AFM & SPM Chair), Rod Shipley (RMS Honorary Treasurer), Sebastian Aguayo, Laurent Bozec FRMS, Charles Clifford FRMS, Emmanuel Derivery, Sanket Jugade, Pieter Keenan, Alice Pyne, Kristina Rusimova, Neil Thomson FRMS, Kislon Voitchovsky FRMS, Xiangdong Xu, Allison Winton (RMS Chief Executive), Jade Sturdy (RMS Committee Co-Ordinator and PA to Chief Executive) and Sali Davis (Incoming RMS Chief Executive) *

I. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence had been received from: Peter O'Toole FRMS (RMS President) and Susan Anderson FRMS (past RMS Vice President).

2. Minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting

The minutes were approved as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. Report from Section Chair

The Section Chair gave the following report:

"First of all, I would like to extend my warmest thanks to Allison, Jade and to all of the RMS team for their excellent help and guidance both for the Section activity and mmc2023 organisation.

Another year has passed since I have written the report for the AGM, as Chair of the AFM and other Scanning Probe Microscopies section. With COVID now being a distant memory, multiple new challenges have appeared with a brutal war fully ablaze in Europe for more than a year and global warming triggering new natural disasters that are not checked, these are requiring free and forward-thinking nations and people to unite and to act to secure a better and safer future for our children. Science and education are vital components of such action, and microscopies, in particular ones enabling exploration of nanoscale structures that are key for the development of novel technologies, play its part in the picture of the modern world.

The AFM and SPM Section have had several meetings in the past year, focusing on the preparation of mmc2023, planning future meetings and discussing the new developments and directions of the AFM and SPM field. One of the key things discussed was the need to emphasise and promote understanding of the complementarity of SPM to other microscopies that allow scanning probes to observe nanoscale physical and chemical properties of materials, devices and biological objects, the feat generally not possible by light or electron microscopies.

The Section has been greatly looking forward to mmc2023, with four AFM & SPM sessions taking place across the following areas:

- **AFM in Life Sciences** (Chair Laurent Bozec, University of Toronto) with 2 Invited Speakers: Kristian Franze (Max-Planck-Zentrum fur Physik und Medizin, Germany & University of Cambridge, UK) and Alice Pyne (University of Sheffield, UK).
- Nanoscale Probing of Physical Properties via AFM & SPM (Chair Lynette Keeney, University College Cork, Ireland) with Invited Speakers: Andrea Centrone (National Institute of Standard and Technology, USA) and Sohini Kar-Narayan (University of Cambridge, UK).
- Nanoscale Science of Materials for Energy Storage and Generation (Chair Laura Fumagalli, University of Manchester, UK), Invited Speakers: Mingdong Dong (Aarhus University, Denmark) and Ilka Hermes (Leibniz-Institute für Polymerforschung Dresden, Germany).

• Atomic and Molecular Resolution Phenomena via AFM (Chair- Adam Sweetman, University of Leeds, UK), Invited Speakers: (Mervyn Miles, University of Bristol, UK) and Daniel Wegner (Radboud University, The Netherlands).

The Chairs and Invited Speakers from the UK, Europe, Canada and USA show a growing international impact of RMS activities and the popularity of the mmc series, something that we are very happy to acknowledge.

On Monday mmc2023 also featured two AFM & SPM Workshops run by Bruker and Park Systems. The AFM and SPM Symposia presented the RMS AFM and SPM Award for "Outstanding progress made in the field of Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM) and Scanning Probe Microscopy (SPM)" to Alice Pyne who has developed unique SPM tools for quantitative exploration of DNA via SPM. Mmc2023 will also feature a talk by Andrea Centrone (NIST, USA), the winner of the 2022 RMS Scientific Achievement Award, for combining the nanoscale resolution of AFM and chemical sensitivity via photothermal IR probe microscopy. Mervin Miles, FRS, FINSTP will also receive his Honorary Fellowship of RMS and will give a talk on Thursday 6 July.

We would like to extend our thanks for service to the section to the outgoing members: Steven Schofield and Lorna Dougan. We also welcome the new members who are joining us: Hector Corte-Léon (Nanosurf), Kristina Rusimova (University of Bath) and George Heath (University of Leeds).

The AFM and SPM events in 2024 will feature a 3-day AFM & SPM Meeting, 25-29 March 2024, which will take place at Durham University. The event is being organised by Kislon Voitchovsky and will be fully in-person, with the capability to offer a couple of international speakers to attend virtually.

In summary, in the Section committee membership, selection of mmc Chairs and Invited Speakers we continue to have a good mix of academic and industrial members, with the broadly advertised Section membership helping to attract new active members. We are looking to further expand the international appeal of our Section, setting up the international collaboration with other microscopy societies and suggesting AFM and Scanning Probe Microscopy speakers to the International Microscopy Lecture Series."

5. Election of Officers

There being no other nominations, the following Officers were duly elected:

Chair:	Oleg Kolosov, Lancaster University
Deputy Chair:	Jamie Hobbs, University of Sheffield

6. Election of Ordinary Members (8)

There being no other nominations, the following Ordinary Members were duly elected:

Héctor Corte-Léon, Nanosurf Mingdong Dong, Aarhus University Denmark George Heath, University of Leeds Sohini Kar-Narayan, University of Cambridge Vladimir Korolkov, Park Systems Brian Rodriguez, University College Dublin Kristina Rusimova, University of Bath James Vicary, Nunano

In addition to the elected Committee Members, Charles Clifford, Laura Fumagali and Kislon Voitchovsky have been co-opted onto the Committee (up to 4 Co-opted members). Jacob Pattern has been co-opted as the Early Career Representative. Chris Mulcahy, Oxford Instruments, and Sonia Contera, University of Oxford will also be invited to attend meetings.

7. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

*Non-members present: Hector Corte-Leon, Mingdong Dong, Sergio Gonzalez, Jamie Goodchild, George Heath, Sohini Kar-Narayan, Abimbola Olulana, Jacob Pattem, Jakub Pongracz, Brian Rodriguez, Will Trewby, James Vicary and Kang Xiang