

Minutes of the 2023 AGM of the Electron Microscopy Section of the Royal Microscopical Society which was held on Wednesday 5 July 2023 during mmc2023 held at Manchester Central, Windmill St, Manchester, M2 3GX

Members present: Asa Barber (EM Chair), Trevor Almeida, Matthew Bilton, Sean Collins, Roland Fleck FRMS, Patricia Goggin FRMS, Louise Hughes FRMS, John Hutchison Hon FRMS, Roland Kroger FRMS, Adriana Klyszejko FRMS, Leonardo Lari, Leandro Lemgruber, Kirsty MacLellan-Gibson, Jon Moss, Fabio Nudelman FRMS, Dogan Ozkaya FRMS, Dick Paden Hon FRMS, Julia Parker, Clare Steele-King, Lore Troalen FRMS, Paul Verkade FRMS, Alharbi Yousef and Allison Winton (RMS Chief Executive).

I. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence had been received from: Peter O'Toole FRMS (RMS President), Susan Anderson FRMS (past RMS Vice President) and Mark Jepson.

2. Minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting

The minutes were approved as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. Report from Section Chair

The Section Chair gave the following report:

"I am delighted to report on a year packed with all things electron microscopy as well as broader contributions to the Society. Most notable is the Section's commitment to the development of the RMS EDI&A where the Section is strongly represented. Early in the year the Section discussed at length the need for sustainability to be interpreted wider to encompass evaluation of carbon footprints for microscopy facilities, which has led to the Section's very own deputy chair, Rebecca, co-delivering a session at mmc2023.

The core of the events programme in electron microscopy returned in full force with SEMT, EM-UK and the Spring School in Electron Microscopy.

SEMT yet again delivered on the pre-Christmas festivities at the Natural History Museum with a collection of varied presentations including a noticeably increase in correlating electron microscopy related techniques to other microscopies. An interesting discussion forum on careers was a notable inclusion emphasising the growth of the Section and Society in this area.

EM-UK was subject to rail disruption but bounced back in a February slot with the RMS EM lecture delivered by Sarah Haigh on Atomic Imaging of Solid-liquid Interfaces.

Finally, the Spring School in Electron Microscopy returned to Leeds after what seems like a considerable absence to deliver an excellent course using a hands-on skills approach in EM. Further physical events included the Microscopy of Semi-Conductor Materials at Cambridge in April and EBSD 2023 in Leeds showing very respectable attendances.

Another significant activity in the Section was the further incorporation of the Association of Clinical Electron Microscopists (ACEM), ably represented by Patricia Goggin on the Section, into the RMS fold. The new ACEM website went live in April through the RMS and it highlights an important part of the EM community.

The year has been perhaps dominated by the discussions and planning around mmc2023. As with previous mmc's, the conference side of the event provided an opportunity for many EM interests to be integrated into a large number of sessions. While difficult to pick out so many highlights, the Alan Agar Award was notably presented to Erin Tranfield, who then went on to speak passionately on recognition for the 'little guy' microscopy centres that

can make significant impacts through being effective in answering scientific questions. As I write this, Erin is also intending on delivering an EDI&A plenary on surviving a life changing accident and relearning how to be a scientist that apparently is going to be a 'tear-jerker', so expect a more personal insight into career struggles.

The Section continued to be vibrant and an opportunity to discuss a range of areas relevant to the community. Links with other parts of the RMS, including Focussed Interest Groups and a joint in-person meeting with the Engineering, Physical and Material Sciences Section demonstrated the passion of the section members to deliver positive change to the community. A number of views particularly around training were notable, demonstrating the views of the Section to continue to develop the skills set of the modern electron microscopist. A reshuffling of the section has retained the breadth of EM interests and we welcome Sarah Harper who expands the industry representation on the section. A final note is the impending departure of Allison Winton from the RMS. All I can say is, on behalf of the Section, Allison will be greatly missed, and we convey the very best of best wishes in the next part of her life."

5. Election of Officers

There being no other nominations, the following Officers were duly elected:

Chair: Asa Barber, London South Bank University
Deputy Chair: Rebecca Thompson, Thermo Fisher Scientific

6. Election of Ordinary Members (8)

There being no other nominations, the following Ordinary Members were duly elected:

Jemima Burden, University College London Louise Hughes, Oxford Instruments Mark Jepson, Loughborough University Leandro Lemgruber, University of Glasgow Chris Parmenter, University of Nottingham Natasha Stephen, Geological Society Lore Troalen, National Museums, Scotland Thomas Walther, University of Sheffield

In addition to the nominated Committee Members, Roland Fleck, Patricia Goggin, Sarah Harper and Paul Verkade have been co-opted onto the Committee and Jennifer Simpson has been co-opted as the Early Career Representative.

Ursel Bangert will be invited to attend to represent the Microscopical Society of Ireland, Martin Jones will be invited to attend to represent the Data Analysis in Imaging Section, Liz Duke will be invited to attend to represent the X-ray FIG and Alex Ball will be invited to represent the Professional Development and Training FIG.

7. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

^{*}Non-members present: Xiaohui Chen and Simon Fairclough