

Minutes of the 2016 AGM of the Scanning Probe Microscopy Section of the Royal Microscopical Society which was held on Wednesday 6 July 2016 at the University of Warwick during the SPM Meeting

Present: Dr Terry McMaster (Chair), Dr Neil Wilson (Section Secretary), Dr Laurent Bozec, Dr Charles Clifford, Professor Sonia Contera, Dr Lorna Dougan, Dr Patrick Gunning, Dr Bart Hoggenboom, Dr Nic Mullin, Mr Andres Muniz-Piniella, Mr David Owen, Mr Ralf Schniersmeier, Dr Robert Turner, Mr Tom Warwick, Mrs Victoria Masters (RMS staff), Ms Allison Winton (RMS staff) and Dr Zdravka Dragnevska FRMS (RMS staff).

1. Apologies for Absence

Apologies had been received Dr Colin Grant, Dr Brian Rodriguez and Dr Rhys Jones.

2. Minutes of the 2015 Annual General Meeting

The Minutes were signed and approved as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. Report from Section Chair

'As the Chair of the SPM committee I would like to welcome you all and give you a bit of background information about the RMS if this is your first ever SPM AGM meeting.

The section was formed at the 2013 SPM meeting in Leeds, which was organised by Dr Neil Thomson, as an expression of the desire to re-energise the SPM community in the UK. Since then we manged to establish our aim and mission which is for every PhD student using SPM to attend at least one SPM meeting, helping and supporting young scientists and of course the wider SPM community. We were on a little bit of downward trend in terms of number of attendees before the committee was formed, but I think we have turned that corner a bit. We have now got a secure foundation to move forward.

I don't have anything specific to report other than to support the community from the bottom up since the SPM section was formed and that is expressed in trying to organise training school, etc.

The SPM meeting last year was part of mmc2015 and the next meeting will be during mmc2017 in Manchester Central between 3-6 July 2017. Two full days of SPM community organised talks, posters and hopefully another training school.

I personally would like to thank Dr Neil Wilson for organising such an exciting SPM meeting this year, as well as the RMS staff for their support. This year we had 16 people registered for the SPM training course; and for the SPM Meeting we have 97 people, 13 companies and lots of posters.

It looks like you are stuck with me and Dr Wilson for another year as Chair and Secretary respectively! I am also very pleased to welcome the new members onto the Committee - Professor Sonia Contera and Dr Stephanie Allen.'

5. Election of Officers

There being no other nominations, the following officers were duly elected:

Chair: Dr Terry McMaster, University of Bristol Honorary Secretary: Dr Neil Wilson, University of Warwick

6. Election of Ordinary Members (7)

There being no other nominations, the following officers were duly elected:

Dr Stephanie Allen, University of Nottingham

Dr Laurent Bozec, University College London

Professor Sonia Contera, University of Oxford

Dr Colin Grant, University of Bradford

Dr Patrick Gunning, Institute of Food Research

Dr Bart Hoogenboom, University College London

Dr Neil Thomson, University of Leeds

In addition to the nominated Committee Members, Dr Boumedienne Boudjelida, Dr Rhys Jones, Dr Chris Mulcahy, Mr Ralf Schniersmeier and Dr Alex Winkel have been co-opted onto the Committee. Dr Klyszejko is standing down from the committee for one year for her maternity leave.

7. Any Other Business