

Minutes of the 2016 Annual General Meeting of the Flow Cytometry Section of the Royal Microscopical Society which was held on Thursday 21 July at the Leeds MET Hotel during the FCUK meeting

Present: Dr Richard Grenfell (Chair), Dr Rachael Walker (Section Secretary), Dr Peter O'Toole (RMS Honorary Secretary Science – Life Sciences), Mr Mark Cheetham, Mr Derek Davies, Mr Richard Ellis, Dr Andy Filby, Dr Karen Hogg, Mrs Niga Nawroly, Mr Graeme Park, Mr Graham Pockley, Ms Catherine Simpson, Ms Louisa Thaçi, Dr Ian Titley, Dr Frederik Walberg, Mr Paul Wallace and Dr Zdravka Dragnevska FRMS (RMS staff).

1. Apologies for Absence

Apologies had been received from Dr Andrew Herman and Dr Gareth Howell.

2. Minutes of the 2015 Annual General Meeting

After changing the affiliation of Mr Derek Davies from Cancer Research UK to The Francis Crick Institute and the title of Dr Peter O'Toole from RMS Executive Honorary Secretary to RMS Honorary Secretary Science (Life Sciences) the Minutes were signed and approved as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. Report from Section Chair

There have been several training courses and symposia throughout the past year, the York course was well attended with excellent feedback. The flowcytometryUK meeting here in Leeds is very well attended. And the initial feedback I have received is very positive.

I'd be keen to talk to anyone who has an idea for a training course or symposium that's not currently covered. There are new topics and new directions that flow cytometry is branching into and while some of these are manufacturer specific, there will be cases where a scientific programme is more suited to a standalone meeting.

Planning for mmc2017 in Manchester is well under way and the field of flow cytometry will be represented.

Dr Mike Ormerod was finally presented with his honorary fellowship at the RMS council meeting in December, Leonora Herzenburg gave a fascinating look at some of the early days of flow cytometry yesterday, before being presented with her honorary fellowship. I hope that Barbara Bain will be awarded hers at the RMS meeting in September.

I was very pleased to present Karen Hogg with the RMS medal for Flow Cytometry, and urge members to think about who might deserve recognition for their work. All details for the awards and medals are on the RMS website

I'd like to thank Ulrika Johansson, for many years of service, who is stepping down from the committee and welcome Rob Jepras and Andy Filby, who have agreed to join. I would like the committee to try to represent as many areas of flow cytometry as possible, clinical, research, commercial, pharma etc. If you feel that your field is not represented, do let me know and we can look at ensuring that we are not missing expertise.

I am grateful to the flow cytometry section committee and would like to thank them for their time spent helping plan and organize courses and seminars, grateful too to their institutes and companies for allowing them the time to further the field of flow cytometry

Finally, but certainly not leastly, a huge thank you to the RMS team for all their work organising all the bits you don't normally see on seminars and courses, and particularly Allison and Zu, for making sure the section runs smoothly.'

5. Election of Officers

There being no other nominations, the following officers were duly elected:

Chair: Dr Richard Grenfell, Cancer Research UK

Honorary Secretary: Dr Rachael Walker, Babraham Institute, Cambridge

6. Election of Ordinary Members (8)

There being no other nominations, the following officers were duly elected:

Mr Derek Davies, The Francis Crick Institute, UK
Mr Mark Cheetham, Propel-Labs
Dr Andy Filby, Newcastle University Centre for Life
Dr Andrew Herman, University of Bristol
Dr Gareth Howell, University of Manchester
Mrs Niga Nawroly, Bio-Rad Laboratories
Mr Dan Payne, Leicester Royal Infirmary
Mr Ian Titley, Institute of Cancer Research, London

In addition to the nominated Committee Members, Mr Ricardo Morilla, Dr Robert Jepras and Dr Fredrik Wallberg have been co-opted onto the Committee.

7. Any Other Business – there was none.