

The 2021 Annual General Meeting of the Early Career Section of the Royal Microscopical Society was held on Monday 5 July 2021 during the Early Career Symposium being held via zoom

RMS Members Present: Liam Rooney (Chair), Grace Burke FRMS (RMS President), Michelle Peckham FRMS (RMS Executive Honorary Secretary), Rik Brydson FRMS (RMS Honorary Secretary Science (Physical)), Jorge Almagro, Beatrice Bottura, Meg Clapperton, Shelly Conroy, Nathan Curry, Dhilan Devadasan, Evelyn Garlick, Wanbing Ge, Trevor Grigg, Yanping Guo FRMS, Rhiannon Heard FRMS, Emma Hedley, Karen Hogg FRMS, Séamus Holden, Pete Johnson, Lewys Jones, Lynne Joyce FRMS, Maadhav Kothari, Patrick McBean, Emma McDermott, Helen Miller FRMS, Cameron O'Byrne, Daniel Payne, Frances Quigley, Heba Sailem, Rebecca Saleeb, Jenny Simpson FRMS, Gabriella Symons, Aakash Varambhia, Joanna Wells, Kevin Whitley, Amanda Jarman (RMS) and Owen Morton (RMS).*

- Apologies for Absence
 There were no apologies for absence.
- Matters Arising
 There were no matters arising.

3. Report from Section Chair

"This has been my first year as Chair of the Early Career Section Committee - it has been an enjoyable year, and the Committee have achieved a lot of great things in an otherwise turbulent time. Before summarising this year's highlights, I would like to thank the previous Chair and founder of this Section, Dr Colum O'Leary, who has now settled into his new role as a PDRA in California. Colum shaped the Early Career Committee into what it is today, and brought together a fantastic group of Early Career Microscopists to serve the interests of the imaging community. Having such a great group of people to bounce ideas off and drive the Section forward has made my job much easier.

The remit of the Early Career Committee is to provide a platform for early career microscopists with the full support of the RMS. We aim to provide an inclusive environment for ECRs to showcase their research, discuss their roles in the context of the field, and develop and disseminate resources for early career scientists. Any student, postdoc or early career professional who is a member of the RMS can benefit from the activities organised by the Early Career Section Committee. The best way to keep up to date is primarily via our Twitter account (@RMS_EarlyCareer), or by the RMS website, emails or features in inFocus magazine.

We began the year by setting up our official EC Twitter account to communicate to our members. This account has been driven by Dr Emma McDermott and has been a great success. We have seen an increase to over 500 followers, with daily content on job posts, career resources, events news, and technical overviews.

The Section also saw the launch of the inaugural RMS Early Career Award – a prestigious

prize which is awarded to an outstanding early career microscopist who has pushed the boundary of their field, and effectively communicated the impact of their work. I would like to thank those on the Committee for their work in pulling this award together, and the authors for all of the outstanding submissions we received. Our recipient of the 2021 RMS Early Career Award, Dr Kevin Whitley, provided an excellent overview of his research here today and will be formally commended with the Award at an in-person RMS event later this year. We are happy to announce that the RMS Early Career Award will become an annual feature of the Committee.

Committee Members have been working closely with Dr Georgina Fletcher, Dr Nicola Lawrence, and Dr Alex Sossick to develop and launch a series of short technical lectures, named Technical Teabreaks. The 15-minute long videos have been created by experts in their fields, and some are publicly available via the RMS YouTube account. These are currently limited to Light Microscopy, but we hope to expand this to EM and Image Analysis in the coming months.

The Committee has been actively engaging to develop regular features and content for InFocus magazine. These contributions cover committee member introductions, updates, events news, perspectives, career spotlights, and more. We look forward to furthering engagement with the InFocus team over the next year and continuing our promotion of the RMS' Early Career Members.

The ECC implemented its official constitution in line with other RMS Science Sections. This formalises Committee membership and I am pleased that everyone has agreed to stay in office for at least one more year. I look forward to continuing to smash it for another year together!

The major event of the ECC's calendar has been today's Early Career Symposium at mmc2021. Thank you to all the Committee Members, Session Chairs, and the RMS Team who helped to organise this event - and to the panellists, selected presenters, and keynote speakers for their involvement. We have also been heavily involved in organising a virtual social event for mmc2021, and have partnered with Hotel Chocolat to provide a bespoke tasting event. I am very grateful to Communications Physics for their generous sponsorship of the event, which has allowed the ECC to heavily subsidise ticket prices and make the most of sitting at home eating chocolate when we should have otherwise been partaking in post-conference in-person extracurricular activities.

Looking ahead, the Committee is in good shape. We will continue to serve the best interests of our community in the next year. We are currently working on developing specific ECR content for the Journal of Microscopy and developing future ECR-focussed events. Moreover, we look forward to continuing the RMS Early Career Award into 2022 and showcasing the fantastic research of our membership.

Finally, I would like to thank Ms Allison Winton, Mrs Amanda Jarman and the rest of the RMS Team for all their hard work and commitment, which has driven and supported many of our efforts."

4. Election of Officers

There being no other nominations, the following Officers were duly elected:

Chair: Dr Liam Rooney, Heriot-Watt University
Deputy Chair: Dr Yanping Guo, University College London

5. Election of Ordinary Members

There being no other nominations, the following Ordinary Members were duly elected:

Ms Beatrice Bottura, University of Strathclyde

Dr Laura Clark, University of Leeds

Dr Irene Del Molino Del Barrio, GlaxoSmithKline

Ms Rhiannon Heard, Trinity College, Oxford

Mr Pete Johnson, University of Southampton

Dr Minkyung Kang, Deakin University Australia

Dr Daniel Kelly, Technical University of Denmark

Ms Nyree Manoukian, University of Oxford

Dr Stefania Marcotti, Randall Centre for Cell and Molecular Biophysics, KCL

Dr Emma McDermott, University of Galway

Ms Shurie McMahon, Huddersfield City Engineering College

Dr Colum O'Leary, UCLA/LBNL

Dr Heba Sailem, University of Oxford

Dr Rebecca Saleeb, University of Edinburgh

Mrs Jennifer Simpson, Pirbright

Dr Rebecca Thompson, University of Leeds

Dr Wing Chung Tsoi, University of Swansea

Dr Aakash M Varambhia, Johnson Matthey

6. Any Other Business

There was no further business.

Non RMS Members Present: Lizah van der Aart, Sebastian Aguayo Paul, Joyce Ang, Ursel Bangert, Michal Bodik, Lynsey Burton, Thomas Caldwell, Alicia Carrington, Xinyue Chen, Daryan Chitsaz, Ellen Clancy, Rebecca Cummings, Zhiyuan Ding, Sabine Dürr, Christopher Evans, Abimbola Feyisara Adedeji Olulana, Stephanie Foster, Hazel Gardner, Jack Haley, Mike Hennessy, Veronika Hegrova, Jake Howden, Miriam Hurley, Chengge Jiao, Deirdre Kavanagh, Gea van de Kerkhof, Cheng Li, Dorota Matras, Eoin Moynihan, Harriet Nevison-Andrews, Weixin Song, Peter Tinning, William Trewby, Özge Tüncel, Kannan Venugopal, Nina Vyas, Katrina Wesencraft, Lauren Woodburn and Yu Xia.