

# Minutes of the 2017 AGM of the Scanning Probe Microscopy Section of the Royal Microscopical Society which was held on Tuesday 4 July at mmc2017 in Manchester during the SPM Meeting

### AGENDA

**Present**: Dr Terry McMaster (Chair), Dr Neil Wilson (Section Secretary), Dr Charles Clifford, Professor Sonia Contera, Dr Lorna Dougan, Dr Laura Fumagalli, Dr Nuria Gavara, Dr Colin Grant, Dr Patrick Gunning, Professor Jamie Hobbs, Dr Nigel Hodson, Professor Bart Hoggenboom, Professor Oleg Kolosov, Dr Jonathan Moffat, Dr Chris Mulcahy, Dr Nic Mullin, Dr Drew Murray, Dr Jacob Pattem, Dr Brian Rodriguez, Ms Allison Winton (RMS Chief Executive), Ms Mel Reedman (RMS staff), Mrs Victoria Masters (RMS staff), and Dr Zdravka Dragnevska FRMS (RMS staff).

- Apologies for Absence
   Apologies had been received from Dr Stephanie Allen and Dr Laurent Bozec.
- Minutes of the 2016 Annual General Meeting
   The Minutes were signed and approved as a true and accurate record of the meeting.
- Matters Arising
   There were no matters arising.
- 4. Report from Section Chair

"I would like to welcome everyone to the SPM Section AGM. I think we have possibly the largest attendance so far which is very encouraging.

As normal business of the Section, we meet 3 times per year: once in the autumn, once in the spring and once in the early summer and beside the business of organising meetings and reflecting on the issues to do with the SPM community in the UK and Ireland, we've considered in the last few years the various training opportunities available and how we might interact better with Early Career Scientists/Microscopists. One reflection of that is the pre-congress workshop – Practical Tips for Atomic Force Microscopy Imaging and Spectroscopy. Special thanks to Neil Wilson, Charles Clifford, Patrick Gunning and the SPM manufacturers for supporting it. I think it is something the Section can take pride in, not just this year, but also two years ago at mmc2015. The Section is thinking about how to extend that to Early Career Researchers in a more sustainable way, as we are limited in capacity because we want to give a high value interactive experience for the attendees with the microscopes and that does place constraints on the number of attendees. If anybody has any ideas about how we might develop that training portfolio it would be really helpful, and please let us know your thoughts.

I'd like to take the liberty of making a few personal remarks as this is my last AGM as Section Chair. To thank the people who served with me on the RMS SPM Section. We started as a brand new Section in 2013, it was Neil Thomson's bright idea and I think it has helped to re-energise the SPM community.

I'd like to thank all the session chairs, the organisers and speakers and not just for mmc2017, but for the previous ones as well. The attendance figures have continued to increase which is excellent. Thanks also to Neil Wilson for organising the SPM meeting in Warwick in 2016.

I'd like to thank the departing members of the Committee – Patrick Gunning, Neil Thomson and Brian Rodriguez. Special thanks to Honorary Secretary, Neil, his contribution has been immense. I am also really pleased he has been elected to the RMS Council, this is great news for SPM as we will have a really effective voice on the RMS Council. Finally, I would like to welcome Sonia Contera as the new Section Chair and thank the RMS team for their fantastic support through the changes, votes, elections and leadership contest that have made for a busy 12 months.

Thank you very much."

#### 5. Election of Officers

There being no other nominations, the following Officers were duly elected:

Chair: Professor Sonia Contera, University of Oxford Vice Chair: Dr Terry McMaster, University of Bristol

Honorary Secretary: Dr Colin Grant, University of Bradford

## 6. Election of Ordinary Members (8)

There being no other nominations, the following Ordinary Members were duly elected:

Dr Stephanie Allen, University of Nottingham

Dr Laurent Bozec, University College London

Dr Lorna Dougan, University of Leeds

Dr Laura Fumagalli, University of Manchester

Dr Nuria Gavara, Queen Mary, University of London

Professor Jamie Hobbs, University of Sheffield

Dr Bart Hoogenboom, University College London

Professor Oleg Kolosov, Lancaster University

In addition to the nominated Committee Members, Dr Boumedienne Boudjelida, Dr Charles Clifford, Dr Jonathan Moffat and Dr Chris Mulcahy and have been co-opted onto the Committee. Dr Jacob Pattern has been co-opted as the Early Career Representative.

## 7. Any Other Business

Dr Mulcahy thanked Dr McMaster for his time as a Chair.