

# Minutes of the 2017 Annual General Meeting of the Electron Microscopy Section of the Royal Microscopical Society which was held on Thursday 6 July at mmc2017 in Manchester

**Present**: Professor Paul Verkade (Chair), Professor Pete Nellist (Vice-President), Dr Debbie Stokes (International Secretary), Dr Lynne Joyce (Honorary Treasurer), Professor Rik Brydson (Honorary Secretary Science – Physical), Dr Trevor Almeida, Mr Mike Ashton, Dr Alex Ball, Dr Lucy Collinson, Dr Michael Doube, Mr Owen Green, Mr Paul Gunning, Dr Sarah Haigh, Dr Pippa Hawes, Professor Beverley Inkson, Dr Gareth Jackson, Dr Jeremy Rees, Dr Natasha Stephen, Dr Rebecca Thompson, Dr Zdravka Dragnevska FRMS (RMS staff).

## I. Apologies for Absence

Apologies had been received from Mr David McCarthy and Dr Lore Troalen.

#### 2. Minutes of the 2016 AGM

The Minutes were signed and approved as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

#### 3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

## 4. Report from Section Chair

'Good morning everybody and welcome to the AGM of the Electron Microscopy section of the RMS. This is the 3<sup>rd</sup> AGM I am doing and as such my time as chair of the committee is over. So a bit of time to reflect. This does not make this a sad occasion though because the committee is in my opinion in a very good shape. We have been very active again this year and with a number of new members on the committee we probably have a wider and better representation of the UK EM community than ever before. This does not mean that we are done because that representation is an ongoing process. Just by being at this AGM (or reading this) you have shown that you are indeed an engaged microscopy person. So don't be surprised if we call upon you one day.

We strive to have representation of a number of more focussed EM groups on the committee such as TOSCA, SEMT, the Cryo Microscopy Group, EM-UK and more. The members of the committee represent academia, industry, industrial users, museums etc. We are now in discussion with the clinical EM specialists to be part of our community and Roland Fleck plays a pivotal part in those talks.

The committee has been involved in the organisation of a wide variety of courses and meetings and following feedback from the EM community has been especially engaged in having more Bio-EM at MMC. Besides the Physical Sciences EM sessions and EMAG you may have noticed that there is a complete Bio-EM stream in the 2017 programme. We have had very positive feedback on this and as such are grateful for that and hope and push to continue with this.

I have very much enjoyed being chair of the committee and that is because we have such an engaged group of people that just makes it fun to work with and I would like to thank all the members of the committee for making it such an enjoyable time.

Also, we sometimes take it for granted but every time I go abroad for a meeting or lecture and explain about the RMS I realise how spoiled we are. Our life is made so easy by all the fantastic staff in the office. Without ignoring all the people that work so hard in the background, here I would like to especially thank Zu who has taken such good care of us that it has been such an easy and enjoyable 3 years."

## 5. Election of Officers

There being no other nominations, the following Officers were duly elected:

Chair: Dr Lucy Collinson, The Francis Crick Institute Vice Chair: Professor Paul Verkade, University of Bristol Honorary Secretary: Dr Thomas Walther, University of Sheffield

## 6. Election of Ordinary Members (8)

There being no other nominations, the following Ordinary Members were duly elected:

Mr Mike Ashton, Intertek Pharmaceuticals, Manchester

Dr Alex Ball, Natural History Museum

Dr Asa Barber, University of Portsmouth

Dr Roland Fleck, King's College, London

Dr Pippa Hawes, The Pirbright Institute

Mr David McCarthy, D M Microscopy Services

Dr Chris Parmenter, University of Nottingham

Dr Jeremy Rees, ISS Group, Manchester

In addition to the nominated Committee Members, Mr Gareth Jackson, Dr Lore Troalen and Dr Natasha Stephen have been co-opted onto the Committee. Dr Rebecca Thomson has been co-opted as the Early Career Representative. Professor Ursel Bangert, University of Limerick, Eire will be invited to attend to represent the Microscopical Society of Ireland

## 7. Any Other Business

Dr Hawes thanked Professor Verkade for his time as a Chair.