

# Minutes of the 2022 AGM of the Light Microscopy Section of the Royal Microscopical Society which was held on Tuesday 5 July 2022 during the Frontiers in Bioimaging 2022 Meeting

#### **RMS Members Present:**

Attended in-person: Gail McConnell FRMS (LM Chair), Beatrice Bottura, Aurora Campagna, Joao Correia, Joelle Goulding FRMS, Martin Jones, Lucia Pinon-Giraldez, Gail McConnell FRMS, Hamed Safaie, Alex Sossick FRMS, Ferran Valderrama, Theresa Ward FRMS, Claire Wells FRMS, Allison Winton (RMS Chief Executive) and the following members of RMS staff: Georgina Fletcher, Alessandra Reni and Jade Sturdy\*

Attended virtually: Sian Culley FRMS, Krishna Inavalli, Anjali Kusumbe, Liam Rooney FRMS

# I. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence had been received from Mike MacDonald and Michelle Peckham.

#### 2. Minutes of the 2021 AGM

The minutes were approved as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

#### 3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

# 4. Report from Section Chair

"This has been my third year as the Light Microscopy (LM) section chair, and it has only become a more enjoyable experience with time. Before giving highlights on the previous year, I would like to thank Allison Winton, Amanda Jarman, Jade Sturdy and the rest of the RMS team who have made the work that the LM section has undertaken possible. Their continued support, help and guidance (and for tolerating my inane questions, sometimes more than once) during the extended period of remote working and our recent, joyful return to in-person events is greatly appreciated.

It has been another very active and successful year for the LM section since our last AGM at the Microscopy: Advances, Innovation, Impact 2021 meeting which took place remotely. The remit of the Section is to support the field of Light Microscopy, as demonstrated by the courses, workshops, events and conferences we have organised and supported in the last year. In response to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic until very recently all LM events have taken place online. In these unpredictable times it has been wonderful to see the LM Section and the community it serves continue to adapt and respond so rapidly and effectively to challenges and opportunities with optimism, enthusiasm, and vigour.

The year started with the Virtual UK Light Microscopy Facility Meeting on 5th and 6th January 2022. For the second time the meeting included our Canadian, Mexican, and North American colleagues from BINA. Following on from the successful facility meetings to establish safe working practices in the COVID-19 era, it was a great opportunity to continue to collaborate and share knowledge with the combination of crib talks, techno-bites and a Q&A providing a rich and diverse forum. I would like to thank the Scientific Organisers Alex Sossick, Peter O'Toole, and Alison North for arranging this informative and well-attended international meeting.

The on-going 'Imaging OneWORLD' seminar series continues to attract excellent international speakers and audiences, covering diverse emerging topics in light and other types of microscopy. Twenty-seven seminars have taken place since the last AGM, and the YouTube recordings of these talks remain highly popular.

The Frontiers 2022 conference is taking place right now and focuses on the latest developments in optical and electron microscopy as well as image analysis. Sessions are covering novel technical developments and applications of these microscopy-based approaches to key cell and molecular biology questions with an overarching aim to bring insights on how they participate in our understanding of human health and disease. At this conference early-career and established researchers are meeting and engaging with a broad range of imaging approaches and to make valuable contacts with leading groups in the field, and I congratulate the organisers on putting together such an engaging and diverse technical programme.

A notable highlight was Christian Eggeling from the University of Oxford being selected as the winner of the 2023 RMS Award for Light Microscopy, for his innovative work using advanced microscopy to understand molecular dynamics. Christian will receive this award at MMC 2023 and plans for this conference are already at an advanced stage. Plenary speakers have been announced and reflecting the interests of the Section we are delighted that Joerg Bewersdorf (Yale University) and Judith Klumperman (University Medical Center, Utrecht) will present their latest work.

Together with members from across the RMS and non-members alike, Joelle Goulding has pioneered an update of the 'RMS Dictionary of Light Microscopy' to include a vast number of recent developments in the field, such as super-resolution and multi-photon definitions and their underpinning technologies. In the last year a vast number of existing terms have been re-evaluated and terms missing from the original edition of the Dictionary have been written, and the editing phase will soon begin. I would like to take this opportunity to extend my personal thanks to Joelle for her imaginative thinking that kick-started this important initiative and for her commitment and leadership in realising this opportunity, and I also thank the large number of contributors who have produced definitions of the many terms needed to update the Dictionary.

The RMS continues to support and serve the light microscopy community, and as a committee we are keen to meet new requirements of the community as they arise. Two members of the LM Section will demit office, namely Rebecca Saleeb, the Early Career Committee Representative to the LM Section and Ian Dobbie, the Deputy Chair of the Section. I thank both for their time, energy, commitment, and inspiration in helping to support the aims of the Section and the community we serve.

The LM Section is made up from a diverse grouping within the light microscopy field and we are always looking to expand our Section composition. Suggestions for potential volunteers to join the section are always welcome, as are suggestions for courses that the LM section could run or support for the benefit of the community."

### 5. Election of Officers

There being no other nominations, the following Officers were duly elected:

Chair: Gail McConnell, University of Strathclyde

Deputy Chair: Kurt Anderson, The Francis Crick Institute, London

## 6. Election of Ordinary Members

There being no other nominations, the following Ordinary Members were duly elected:

- Richard Bowman, University of Bath
- Susan Cox, King's College London
- Viji Draviam, QMUL
- Joelle Goulding, University of Nottingham
- Mike MacDonald, University of Dundee
- Sebastian Munck, VIB Bio Imaging Core KU Leuven
- Mike Shaw, NPL
- Krishna Inavalli, University of Southampton

In addition to the nominated Committee Members: Sîan Culley, Deirdre Kavanagh, Alex Sossick and Christian Wilms have been co-opted onto the Committee.

Jessica Valli will be invited to meetings to represent ESRIC, Mark Leake will be invited to meetings to represent PoLNET, Alex Laude and Glynn Nelson will be invited to represent the QC Focussed Interest Group.

## 7. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

<sup>\*</sup>Non-RMS members present: Sophie Acton, Deirdre Kavanagh, Josiah Lutton, Jeremy Pike, Edalat Radfar