

The 2023 Annual General Meeting of the Early Career Section of the Royal Microscopical Society was held on Monday 3 July 2023 at the Early Career Symposium during mmc2023 held at Manchester Central, Windmill St, Manchester, M2 3GX

Members present: Liam Roney FRMS (ECC Chair), Yanping Guo FRMS (ECC Deputy Chair), Grace Burke FRMS (RMS President), Alex Ball FRMS, Emily Barot, Felix Bennemann, Beatrice Bottura, Mollie Brown, Jay Christopher, Annie Clarke, Shannan Foylan, Matthew Francis FRMS, Victoria Garcia Giner, Thomas Ginnis, Joseph Hetmanski, Gabriel Ing, Archana Jadhav, Judy Kim, Gail McConnell FRMS, Jasmine Morgan, Eoin Moynihan, Alex Payne-Dwyer, Frances Quigley, Tigran Simonian, Sam Sullivan-Allsop, Matthew Tang, Jessica Valli, Joanna Wells, Tim Young, Allison Winton (RMS Chief Executive) and the following members of RMS staff: Zoe Barr, Joanna Cull, Georgina Fletcher and Jade Sturdy*

I. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence had been received from: Peter O'Toole FRMS (RMS Vice President) and Susan Anderson FRMS (RMS Vice President).

2. Minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting

The minutes were approved as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. Report from Section Chair

The Section Chair gave the following report:

"This is my penultimate year as Chair of the Early Career Committee, and it's been a great time to see the Society and its membership adapt and grow following the events of the last few years. I'm delighted to see everyone for, believe it or not, what is my first time at mmc. It's shaped up to be a great week, and there's plenty of great science and initiatives to get involved in over the next few days.

2023 has been a great year for welcoming on-board new faces for the committee. The RMS promoted an open call for new committee members earlier this year, and I'm pleased to see the results. We welcome several new committee members who start their terms as of this AGM; Nischita Kaza, Besaiz Sanchez Sanchez, Katherine Paine, and Alex Payne-Dwyer. We also welcomed our new infocus Editorial Representative, Myfanwy Adams earlier in the year, who will be working closely with the infocus team to feature early career content as a staple of the Society's magazine.

With new members joining, it's sad to see current members' terms come to a close. I'd like to thank Wing Chung Tsoi, Heba Sailem, and Colum O'Leary for their time and support on Committee, and for getting the committee off the ground back in 2019. Beatrice Bottura is due to step down during the Autumn, and she has been a great addition to the Committee as a part of our ever-expanding Scottish delegation. She along with Shelly Conroy, have done a fantastic job of organising today's Early Career Symposium, so I must give a big thanks to them both for all their hard work and organisation.

The highlight of our committee calendar is our Early Career Symposium and Early Career Award, with this year being our first year hosting an in-person version of the award process. Applicants were welcomed from all disciplines of microscopy and the showcase of talent was extremely high. They were distilled down to three candidates, whom I'm looking forward to seeing present later today, after which we will announce the winner of the award.

The ECC has also been behind the success of the bid for the UK to host the flagship light microscopy congress, ELMI, in 2024. This ELMI will be different. It is being organised by a team of early career microscopists with the support of a panel of established mentoring organisers with strong history of ELMI organisation. We will be bringing ELMI to Liverpool in June 2024, and plan on heavily featuring ECRs as part of that event, so please keep an eye out for this.

As a committee, we've been supportive of the Society's move to become more open, inclusive, and accessible. I'm glad to see that the RMS has made positive strides towards creating a transparent and evolving EDIA policy, which is available at the bottom of each page of the website.

We have also been branching out to create more robust ties with other learned societies. The Microbiology Society and the RMS are presenting two joint sessions on Public Health and Microbial Imaging tomorrow. The American, German, and Canadian Microscopical Societies are actively engaging and hosting mixer events and reciprocal meetings at high-impact conferences. We also have a dedicated MSA representative on committee; Nischita will be liaising with colleagues to increase the Society's scope in the US and combine our efforts to serve the interests of early career microscopists.

Finally, I'd like to thank the entire RMS team for all their support, organisation, and dedication to keeping the Society and events running smoothly. A specific thank you to Allison Winton for always having the interests of early career scientists at the fore and giving us a seat at the table, and to Jade Sturdy for her impeccable organisation skills and keeping me on track. A final thanks to our outgoing Deputy Chair, Yanping, for all her support over the last year, Section Chairs, and Council meetings. I'm looking forward to working with Rebecca Saleeb as our new Deputy Chair and continuing to work with Yanping as our Outreach and Education Committee Representative.

All the other RMS Science Sections, the Journal of Microscopy and infocus team (thanks to Michelle Peckham and Owen Morton), the Executive Committee, and the RMS Council have been very supportive of our activities. I extend my thanks on behalf of the committee to each of the members for their support over the last year."

5. Election of Officers

There being no other nominations, the following Officers were duly elected:

Chair: Liam Rooney, University of Strathclyde Deputy Chair: Rebecca Saleeb, University of Edinburgh

6. Election of Ordinary Members

There being no other nominations, the following Ordinary Members were duly elected:

Myfanwy Adams, Cornell University/JIC Laura Clark, University of Leeds Shelly Conroy, Imperial College London Irene Del Molino Del Barrio, GlaxoSmithKline Yanping Guo, University College London Nischita Kaza, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA Stefania Marcotti, King's College London

Early Career Committee AGM Minutes - Public

Emma McDermott, National University of Ireland, Galway Shurie McMahon, University of Huddersfield Jacob Pattem, University of Nottingham Katherine Paine, University of Edinburgh Alex Payne-Dwyer, University of York Besaiz Sanchez Sanchez, King's College London Jennifer Simpson, The Pirbright Institute Aakash Varambhia, Johnson Matthey Marcus Yio, Imperial College London Tim Young, University of Cambridge

7. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

*Non-members present: Ani Augustine Jose, Johanne Bischof, Treva Brown, Josep Busom Descarrega, Laura Clarke, Shelly Conroy, Julio Da Nascimento, Natalia Da Silva De Sa, Camilla Dondi, Lara Dresser, Emma Hedley, John Howe, Jakub Javurek, Siobhan Kingsley, Mart Last, Robert Lees, Stephen Mullins, Hlanganani Nyembe, Ellen Oudkerk-Sodia, Katherine Paine, Laia Pasquina, Dina Ratsimandresy, Aishwarya Sivakumar, Ben Sutcliffe, Kim Thrane, Gea Van De Kerkhof, Nina Vyas, Emily Walsh, Ivy Wang, Amy Watts, Freya Whiteford, Lukas Worch