

Minutes of the 2023 AGM of the Life Sciences Section of the Royal Microscopical Society which was held on Wednesday 5 July 2023 during mmc2023 held at Manchester Central, Windmill St, Manchester, M2 3GX

Members present: Theresa Ward FRMS (LS Chair), Steve Thomas FRMS (LS Deputy Chair), Kurt Andreson FRMS (LM Deputy Chair), Maddy Parsons FRMS (RMS Honorary Secretary Sciences (Biological)), Richard Bowman FRMS, Poppy Cairney, Susan Cox FRMS, Emmanuel Derivery, Viji Draviam, Roy Edward FRMS, Joelle Goulding FRMS, Karen Hogg FRMS, Martin Jones FRMS, Mark Leake FRMS, Gail McConnell FRMS, Mark Rigby, Liam Rooney FRMS, Michael Schwertner, Tom Slater FRMS, Alex Sossick FRMS, Merrick Strotton, Ferran Valderrama, Jessica Valli, Claire Wells FRMS, Tim Young and the following RMS members of staff: Zoe Barr, Joanna Cull, Jade Sturdy (RMS Committee Co-Ordinator and PA to Chief Executive) and Sali Davis (incoming RMS President)*

I. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence had been received from: Peter O'Toole FRMS (RMS President) and Susan Anderson FRMS (past RMS Vice President).

2. Minutes of the 2022 AGM

The minutes were approved as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

2. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

3. Report from Section Chair

The Section Chair gave the following report:

"It is exactly a year ago since last year's AGM was held at the Frontiers in BioImaging meeting in Birmingham. At the time, it was, I think, the first meeting held face-to-face again by the RMS and it was really great to be able to meet with committee members, RMS members and other colleagues. This year it is fantastic to be back at the mmc in person and it has been, as always, a wonderful and vibrant meeting with the exhibition and conference in full swing.

In the year between, we have been busy as usual. Firstly, my thanks to Ferran Valderrama for his involvement in Frontiers last year together with colleagues from Light Microscopy, Electron Microscopy and Data Analysis in Imaging Sections. At the end of August 2022, the International Federation of Societies for Histochemistry and Cytochemistry (IFSHC), held their delayed ICHC 2020 conference in Prague and Katherine Paine, winner of the 2022 Early Career Award, presented her work as part of the LS association with the IFSHC. This was followed by the Abercrombie meeting in September which is held every 5 years. Brian Stramer put together an excellent programme focussing on cell motility and the conference was thoroughly enjoyed by all there.

At the one-day RMS meeting in September, Microscopy: Advances, Innovation, Impact 2022, Emmanuel Derivery flew the flag for the LS committee and gave one of the scientific talks. At the Bristol Actin meeting in December, the LS committee sponsored the best prize for imaging in a talk, with subsequent article in infocus. In April there was the well-attended Botanical Microscopy meeting, held every 4 years. Again, a successful meeting and brings together a tightly knit community.

The LS committee were also happy to contribute towards the Nick Read Prize, awarded at the European Fungal Genetics meeting. Notwithstanding the conference title, the meeting showcased some very beautiful fungal imaging, following the pioneering work by Nick who is sadly missed as a longstanding RMS member and previous LS Chair.

The LS committee has been very active in planning for this mmc meeting and I'm grateful to everyone's involvement including session chairing and poster judging. The session joint with the Microbiological Society on microbial imaging yesterday with Liam, the Early Careers Representative on LS (though also running the EC Committee in his own right) was excellent. Today we have had the Multimodal Imaging session with Steve Thomas which had a deluge of abstracts, and tomorrow are sessions on Optical Imaging of Fast Dynamic Processes with Emmanuel Derivery and in the afternoon a session on FLIM and FCS with Steve Briddon. Thank you all. We have also had the opportunity to present awards with the LS Award to Anjali Kusumbe in the Public Health session yesterday for her work on imaging tissue vasculature and how this changes with aging, and this morning we presented the prestigious Pearse Prize medal to Mike Sheetz for his renowned work in mechanobiology.

In the coming year we will look forward to a meeting on Adhesion and Migration in Disease, organised by Clare Wells, Ferran Valderrama and Maddy Parsons, in September in Warwick which will be fantastic, we hope to see the return of the High Throughput meeting organised with Steve Briddon and Jacquelyn Bond, as well as of course the anticipated Frontiers meeting again next summer. I'm also told a new addition to the Wiley Book series is under a tight timeline for Claire Wells and Stefan Linder, our European representative, thanks to both, and to Mark Rigby for providing our liaison with InFocus.

We also at this time of year, have to say a big thank you to departing committee members for all their endeavours over the past few years. Susan Brooks is a very longstanding LS committee member, a previous LS Chair and continues to work with the Outreach committee and Wiley Book series. Sam Peel has been our industrial representative from AstraZeneca and her job is taking her in different directions, but she was instrumental in setting up the High Throughput workshop. Izzy Jayasinghe is moving continent, we're very sorry to see her leave.

It is my last AGM as Chair and I would like to say how much I have enjoyed this role, even through or even especially because of the Covid hiccoughs. The support from the RMS staff have made it all whirl along so efficiently – the minutes before the committee meetings are even held were an eye-opener. I would like to say what a pleasure it has been to work with Allison throughout and how much she will be missed by all. It is also my 20th year on the LS committee (through various name changes) and the biggest thank you must go to committee members past and present. I wanted to say what a privilege it is to get to know so many wonderful microscopists through the society, to be a part of this community which offers a very different perspective on the day job. But we are all volunteers, and in a world which gets increasingly busy, especially in the day jobs, it is important to nurture these volunteers so that they might also want to be part of this Society, contributing in both small and large ways to its ongoing vitality, for a decade or two. I'm really pleased to be handing over the role to Steve Thomas and look forward to an exciting 2023-24."

5. Election of Officers

There being no other nominations, the following Officers were duly elected:

LS Section AGM Minutes - Public

Chair: Steve Thomas, University of Birmingham

Vice Chair: Theresa Ward, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Deputy-Chair: Ferran Valderrama, St George's University of London

6. Election of Ordinary Members

There being no other nominations, the following Ordinary Members were duly elected:

Steve Briddon, University of Nottingham
Emmanuel Derivery, University of Cambridge
Anjali Kusumbe, University of Oxford
Stefan Linder, University Medical Center Eppendorf, Hamburg
Mark Rigby, Nikon
Brian Stramer, King's College London
Claire Wells, King's College London

In addition to the above nominated Committee Members: Jacquelyn Bond has been co-opted onto the Committee and Liam Rooney has been co-opted as the Early Career Representative.

7. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

^{*}Non-members present: Leila Muresan and Amy Watts