

Minutes of the 2017 Annual General Meeting of the Light Microscopy Section of the Royal Microscopical Society which was held on Thursday 6 July at mmc2017 in Manchester

AGENDA

Present: Mr Alex Sossick (Section Chair), Dr Simon Ameer-Beg (Section Vice-Chair), Professor Gail McConnell (Section Secretary), Professor Michelle Peckham (RMS President), Dr Peter O'Toole (RMS Vice President), Professor Chris Hawes HonFRMS (RMS Executive Honorary Secretary), Professor Maddy Parsons (RMS Honorary Secretary Biological Science), Dr Kurt Anderson, Dr Steve Briddon, Professor Mark Leake, Dr Noah Russell, Dr Theresa Ward, Professor Tim Watson, Dr Claire Wells, Ms Sue Wilson, Ms Allison Winton (RMS Chief Executive).

- Apologies for Absence
 Apologies had been received from Dr Mike McDonald and Dr Rebecca Saleeb.
- Minutes of the 2016 AGM
 The Minutes were signed and approved as a true and accurate record of the meeting.
- 3. Matters Arising
 There were no matters arising.

4. Report from Section Chair

"This has been my first year as section chair, and it has passed very quickly. 2016 has been another very active year for the Light Microscopy section. Our remit is to support the wide field of Light Microscopy as is evident in the courses and conferences we have supported in the last year. I became chair of the Light Microscopy section at the Frontiers in BioImaging meeting last year in July 2016 following on from the excellent chairmanship of Simon Ameer-Beg. The joint Light Microscopy/Life Sciences - Frontiers in Bioimaging Meeting last July was another great success, and thanks to the organisers Dr Susan Cox, Dr Ian Dobbie, Dr Maddy Parsons and Dr Theresa Ward. Frontiers in Bioimaging happens in the in-between years to mmc and we are looking forward to mmc2017. Frontiers in BioImaging will move from its traditional home in London to Glasgow 2018, as we try and engage a wider audience. In 2020 it is envisaged that it will return to London.

The section organises and supports a number of courses throughout the year, which are usually fully subscribed, and is actively looking to complement the current offerings. July saw the "LM Summer school" run at the University of York. The associated workshop "Getting the Most out of Your Confocal" also went well and our continued thanks go to Carl Zeiss, Chris Power and the organising team including Peter O'Toole. Pete and his team in York have run an amazing amount of courses for the RMS over the years and thanks should go to them for their ongoing successful efforts.

January 2016 started the year with another excellent LM Facility Managers Meeting, this time in Oxford organised by Ian Dobbie. Thanks to Ian for organising it. I should mention that this year 2017 was the 10th anniversary of LM Facility Managers Meeting, Peter O'Toole did a superb job of organising the meeting in York, marking the anniversary. The LM Facility Managers are now becoming an interest group within the RMS.

Another notable event we supported was the ESRIC summer school for super-resolution imaging (at Heriot Watt University) which is becoming a popular fixture in the microscopy calendar.

I am looking forward to awarding the Light Microscopy Medal to Jan Huisken, at mmc2017. Recognising his exceptional contribution to Light Microscopy, especially in the field of Light Sheet Microscopy. It was unfortunate that we are only able to award one medal, as can be seen this year at mmc2017 there is a lot of exceptional work in the Light Microscopy field, though Dr Huisken was a very worthy winner as seen by his talk.

I would especially like to thank Simon Ameer-Beg who, as the previous chair of this committee, demonstrated an ability to listen to people's viewpoints, moderate ideas to something sensible and was a good example of how to chair the LM committee whilst moving it forward. I hope he will continue to offer his invaluable input into the committee in the future.

The RMS continues to support and serve the light microscopy community, and as a committee we are keen to meet new requirements of the community as they arise. The LM section is made up from a diverse grouping within the Light microscopy field and we are always looking to expand this. Suggestions for potential volunteers to join the section are always welcome. I must welcome to the committee Dr Mike McDonald a co-opted member known for work in light sheet microscopy, and Dr Rebecca Saleeb as our Early Career Representative.

I must thank everyone on the LM committee for all their time and efforts, without their effort a lot of behind the scenes things that need to happen to help support all our activates would not happen.

Though I have mentioned people all through this report, nothing would be possible without the amazing support/help and enthusiasm of everyone in the RMS office, especially Allison and Zu."

5. Election of Officers

There being no other nominations, the following Officers were duly elected:

Chair: Mr Alex Sossick, University of Cambridge Honorary Secretary: Professor Gail McConnell, University of Strathclyde

6. Election of Ordinary Members (8)

There being no other nominations, the following Ordinary Members were duly elected:

Professor Kurt Anderson, The Francis Crick Institute, London Dr Ian Dobbie, University of Oxford Dr Alessandro Esposito, University of Cambridge Professor Mark Leake, University of York Dr Chris Power, Carl Zeiss Dr Noah Russell, University of Nottingham Dr Spencer Shorte, Institut Pasteur, Paris Ms Sue Wilson, Leica Microsystems

In addition to the nominated Committee Members, Dr Simon Ameer-Beg, Dr Susan Cox and Dr Mike McDonald have been co-opted onto the Committee. Dr Rebecca Saleeb has been co-opted as the Early Career Representative.

7. Any Other Business – there was none.