

Minutes of the 2023 AGM of the Data Analysis in Imaging Section of the Royal Microscopical Society which was held on Wednesday 5 July 2023 during mmc2023 held at Manchester Central, Windmill St, Manchester, M2 3GX.

Members present: Martin Jones FRMS (DAIM Chair), Maddy Parsons FRMS (RMS Honorary Secretary Sciences (Biological)), Kurt Anderson FRMS, Richard Bowman FRMS, Poppy Cairney, Susan Cox FRMS, Emmanuel Derivery, Viji Draviam, Roy Edward FRMS, Joelle Goulding FRMS, Karen Hogg FRMS, Mark Leake FRMS, Gail McConnell FRMS, Mark Rigby, Liam Rooney FRMS, Michael Schwertner, Tom Slater FRMS, Alex Sossick FRMS, Merrick Strotton, Steve Thomas FRMS, Ferran Valderrama, Jessica Valli, Theresa Ward FRMS, Claire Wells FRMS, Tim Young and the following RMS members of staff: Zoe Barr, Joanna Cull, Jade Sturdy (RMS Committee Co-Ordinator and PA to Chief Executive) and Sali Davis (incoming RMS Chief Executive)*

I. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence had been received from: Peter O'Toole FRMS (RMS President) and Susan Anderson FRMS (past RMS Vice President).

2. Minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting

The minutes were approved as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. Report from Section Chair

The Section Chair gave the following report:

"My second year as Chair has seen the image analysis community around the world continue to grow, with an ever-increasing variety of imaging technologies requiring new and innovative analysis methods. In particular, applications of artificial intelligence are rapidly increasing, requiring the community to learn a great deal about the benefits and limitations of such methods.

To help understand the swiftly changing needs of the community, members of the DAIM committee joined in with an effort led by Beth Cimini at the Broad Institute to survey the image analysis community. For the first time in this type of survey, led by the DAIM contingent, respondents were sought from the physical sciences as well as the biological sciences, kickstarting what we hope to be a greater degree of integration between these domains we feel strongly that there are as-yet untapped benefits of making this connection and the RMS is uniquely placed to be able to encourage this. The results of this survey have been very informative and have recently been published as a preprint and submitted for peer review. We have also been actively networking with other organisations and funding agencies, inviting representatives from EuroBioimaging and BBSRC to present their latest initiatives at committee meetings, with a view to disseminating the information to the community, as well as adding our voice to their discussions.

Data and image analysis related contributions to mmc2023 have been a major focus for the committee this year, with three DAIM organised sessions: Artificial Intelligence, chaired by Laura Murphy, Microscopy to Modelling co-Chaired by Leila Muresan and Reproducibility of Data Analysis at Scale, Chaired by Alice Pyne. RMS DAIM Award winners Pete Bankhead and Robert Haase will receive their awards during these sessions, and we congratulate them both on their very well deserved accolades. As well as the conference programme, DAIM committee members are running an activity on image analysis on the Learning Zone, using a range of open-source software platforms, coordinated by the Training Working Group led by Stefania Marcotti and Dave Barry. We look forward to the exciting new scientific developments being presented at mmc2023, as well as the opportunity to interact with the broader community in the Learning Zone and more generally at the conference.

Beyond the large RMS conferences, the committee has also formed a new Events Working Group. Funding for an open access helpdesk style "image.sc live" hybrid event was obtained from a Francis Crick Institute Networking grant, led by Dale Moulding and Rocco D'Antuono. We plan for the Events Working Group to build and curate a

programme of events that will benefit the community. For more general outreach activities, Stephen Cross and Dale Moulding have been in discussion with the Outreach Committee about an exciting new image analysis activity that is suitable for schools, based upon one of Stephen's own software projects.

The Journal of Microscopy DAIM Special Issue Working Group, led by Rocco D'Antuono, has been working hard to promote the Journal and has received a number of submissions, with the deadline recently extended until the Autumn.

In terms of committee membership, there are a few changes happening this year. Chas Nelson is stepping down as Deputy Chair but will stay on the committee as Vice-Chair. The new Deputy Chair will be Alice Pyne and I very much look forward to working with her in pushing the Section's activities forward. Laura Murphy and Merrick Strotton are both stepping down from the committee, and I'd like to take this opportunity to thank them for their contributions to the DAIM committee and the image analysis community in general. As a new scientific Section, we were given some leeway in the committee membership, with a headcount slightly larger than the usual number, and as such we have chosen to not recruit new committee members until we have reached the typical committee quota.

Finally, I would like to thank everyone at RMS HQ for supporting our efforts, especially Jade Sturdy and Allison Winton. We are very sad to see Allison moving on from the RMS, she has been unstinting in her support for the Image Analysis FIG and the DAIM section and has always been a welcome presence in our committee meetings. We wish Allison all the best for the future."

5. Election of Officers

There being no other nominations, the following Officers were duly elected:

Chair:	Martin Jones, The Francis Crick Institute
Vice Chair:	Chas Nelson, University of Glasgow
Deputy Chair:	Alice Pyne, University of Sheffield

6. Election of Ordinary Members

There being no other nominations, the following Ordinary Members were duly elected:

Peter Bankhead, University of Edinburgh David Barry, Francis Crick Institute Stephen Cross, University of Bristol Siân Culley, King's College London Rocco D'Antuono, Francis Crick Institute Alan Kidger, Carl Zeiss Katherine MacArthur, Oxford Instruments Dale Moulding, UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health Leila Muresan, University of Cambridge Eric Prestat, University of Manchester Constantino Carlos Reyes-Aldasoro, City, University of London Thomas Slater, Cardiff University

In addition to the above nominated Committee Members Stefania Marcotti has been co-opted as the Early Career Representative.

7. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

*Non-members present: Leila Muresan and Amy Watts