Winner of 2019 RMS Flow Cytometry Medal revealed

Dr Andy Filby to receive award in recognition of wide-ranging contributions across the discipline

The Royal Microscopical Society (RMS) is delighted to announce Dr Andy Filby as the winner of its prestigious Flow Cytometry Medal.

Andy, who is currently Director of the Flow Cytometry Core Facility (FCCF) at Newcastle University (NU), becomes the latest winner of the biennial prize - part of the RMS Medal Series.

The award is recognition for the enormous contribution he has made, and continues to make, to the discipline of flow cytometry and imaging cytometry in terms of method development, academic output, professional affiliations and teaching activities.

Andy said: “It is a massive honour to be awarded the RMS medal for flow cytometry.  I feel very proud to be recognised by my peers and by such a prestigious society for the work that I do in cytometry and single cell analysis.  I would also like to acknowledge the efforts and skills of my team here at Newcastle and the wonderful support I have received from the faculty and the University in general.”

Cutting-edge research

The internationally renowned FCCF at Newcastle supports and performs cutting-edge research, developing and using cytometric applications to study many aspects of cell biology. Andy’s leadership has delivered a clear and measurable benefit to the users of the facility as well as the wider fields of cytometry, cancer research, stem cell biology and immunology. He continues to develop state-of-the-art technologies and methodologies that drive research both at Newcastle University and beyond.

Andy is also an enthusiastic contributor to the wider flow cytometry community, both as the International Society for the Advancement of Cytometry (ISAC) council member for technology and methodology development, and as an expert adviser on several task forces and committees. As an educator, he teaches on a number of national and international courses as well as delivering online webinars.

Andy is set to receive his medal at the flowcytometryUK Meeting on 21 November 2019.


Share this