RMS Beginners' Competition

The RMS Beginners' Competition takes place every year at the annual one day meeting of the The Society of Electron Microscope Technology (SEMT). The aim of the competition is to encourage those relatively new to microscopy to present their work before an audience at a scientific meeting.

2017 Competition

The winner of the 2017 RMS Beginners' Competition was Tony Fearns from the Francis Crick Institute with his presentation entitled "Elucidating the sub-cellular whereabouts of pathogenic mycobacteria" where he explained how TEM can be used to understand the environments faced by mycobacteria in host cells which is key in developing new therapies to fight tuberculosis.

Previous Winners

2016 Winner

Sherif Elsharakawy, Queen Mary University of London
Multiple Length-Scale Imaging of Biomimetric Hierarchical Mineralized Materials

2015 Winners

Seyit Ali Kamanli, Royal Holloway University of London
Imaging and visualization of the life stages of Chinese mitten crab using Confocal Microscope and CT Scanning
Feargus Cooney, University of Exeter
Using Micro-CT to invesitgate whether the cognitive demands of a comlex breeding strategy in solitary wasps lead to changes in brain structure

2014 Winner

Jonathan Wheatland, Queen Mary University
3D multi-Scale Visualisation of Complex Flocculated Natural Sediments

2013 Winner

Radka Gromnicova, Open University
Small gold nanoparticles: potential carriers of therapeutics across the blood-brain barrier

2012 Winner

Janna Collier, Biomedical Imaging Unit at Southampton General Hospital
Haemophilus influenzae induced cellular and ciliary changes in epithelial cells

2011 Winners

Matthew Sharpe, University of Southampton
Cerebral vascular basement membranes change with age. Implications for the pathogenesis of Alzheimer’s Disease
Prasanna Gamage, Open University
Fate of functionally distinct neurons during ageing in the colon of mice

2010 Winners

Ines Jimenez-Palomar, Queen Mary University
Mechanical Properties of Osteoporotic bone at lamellar lengths scales
Thomas Sharp, Bristol University
Cryo-EM of a de novo designed gigaDalton protein fibre
Daniela Sahlender, Cambridge University
Ultrastructural Analysis of Clathrin-Dependent Trafficking Pathways

Share this