Awards & Competitions

Applications are open for the 2022 awards.  The deadline is 22 April 2022.

The RMS President's Award recognises an exceptional volunatary contribution to the work of the RMS.

The RMS Vice-Presidents' Award recognises the 'unsung heroes' of microscopy by making an award to an engineer, technician or laboratory research support scientist.

The RMS Section Awards celebrate outstanding scientific achievements across all areas of microscopy and flow cytometry with each RMS Science Section able to select the winner for their own Award. 

The RMS Scientific Achievement Award celebrates and marks outstanding scientific achievements in any area of microscopy or flow cytometry for established, mid-career researchers.

The Chris Hawes Award for Outreach and Education celebrates a substantial contribution to the field of education, or to outreach and public engagement, over the course of someone's career.

The Early Career Award recognises the achievements of an outstanding early career scientist in their contribution to the imaging community.

The Pearse Prize, established in 1982 to honour the work of Professor AGE Pearse, is a prestigious award recognising significant contributions to histochemisty and life sciences either through the development of a new technique or through the application of existing methods.

The RMS International Scientific Imaging Competition highlights micrographs that best display how easily microscopy can mix with art with both beautiful and technically challenging images. Our Scientific Imaging Competition takes place every two years, the most recent in 2019.

Share this