Virtual EBSD 2022


The EBSD meeting will take place in a virtual format. The meeting and workshops will be presented live.  The main meeting will be on Tuesday 12 and Wednesday 13 April 2022 at 13:00 BST/08:00 EDT/14:00 CEST/05:00 PDT. 


We are anticipating contributions that range in scope spanning the geoscience, materials science & engineering, and mechanical engineering disciplines, as well as emerging applications from the biological communities. Talks will likely include state-of-the-art developments in instrumentation, new software algorithms, and new techniques developments, as well as the use of EBSD, transmission Kikuchi diffraction, electron channelling contrast imaging (ECCI) and related microscopy modalities. Additionally, we anticipate hearing applications driven talks which engage these approaches to reveal new insight into the microstructure of materials systems in emerging scientific applications and industrial challenges, particularly the use of EBSD data in Industry 4.0.


The meeting will be preceded by optional training workshops for both advanced and novice users, on Monday 11 April 2022 from 14:00 BST/09:00 EDT/15:00 CEST/06:00 PDT.


Scientfic Organisers

  • Dr Ben Britton

    Imperial College London
    Dr Ben Britton is a Senior Lecture in Materials at Imperial College London and has worked with EBSD for the past 10 years. The range of his work spans metals, ceramics and geological materials and includes strain analysis as well as more conventional Hough based approaches. Together with colleagues in Oxford and Imperial, he has developed a new open source indexing toolbox called “AstroEBSD”, as well as virtual dark field imaging using advanced pattern analysis approaches to maximise information obtained from EBSD based experiments of materials.

  • Professor João Quinta da Fonseca

    University of Manchester
    Professor João Fonseca did his PhD on the mechanical behaviour of high volume fraction MMCs at the University of Leeds, before moving to the University of Manchester, where he worked on developing algorithms for digital image correlation and on using crystal plasticity modelling to simulate in-situ diffraction deformation experiments. He is now Professor of Mechanical Metallurgy, with special interest on the forming of light-weighting alloys and also does research on nuclear materials like Zr alloys and stainless steel, and on Ni superalloys for aeroengine applications. This research ranges over topics such as (micro-)experimental mechanics, computational crystal plasticity, crystallographic texture, recrystallisation and phase transformations.
     

  • Dr Katharina Marquardt

    Imperial College London
    Katharina Marquardt is a Lecturer in Ceramics at the Department of Materials. Prior to moving to Imperial she worked at the University of Bayreuth at the Bayerisches Geoinstitut. She obtained her doctorate from the Technical University Berlin for a collaborative effort with the GeoForschungsZentrum Potsdam. As visiting researcher, she spent time at the National Centre for Electron Microscopy Berkeley, USA, at the SuperSTEM in Daresbury, UK and at the Carnegie Mellon University of Pittsburgh in the department of Materials Science and Engineering. There she colaboratively investigated the grain boundary character distribution (GBCD) of Mg2SiO4, which is the first study of the GBCD in orthorhombic crystal system.

    Generally, KMs research is marked by a strong cross-disciplinary character and focuses on the structural and chemical characterization of defects in ceramics/minerals and their relation to their materials macroscopic properties, such as for example element transport and storage, which is equally relevant to Earth and materials sciences. Nm-scale processes control not only the formation of nearly everything in our directly accessible world, but also the dynamics of the deep Earth’s interior.

    Previously she worked on elastic properties of nano crystalline MgO, investigations of polycrystalline ceramics and its microstructure development during deformation, the study of chemical hazards through fahlore deposits and its potentially perilous weathering products in the Schwarzwald, but also the element distribution and incorporation in Cu-bearing ore deposits. She is an expert in using high-end electron microscopy, with specific interest in fast HRTEM imaging at low total electron beam doses. She is currently working on various interface related problems, including slip transfer of dislocations across grain boundaries.